Deep Relaxation


While at CREDO I had the opportunity to have two massages in one week. As someone who once worked as a Massage Therapist I was thrilled at this opportunity. I also knew I really needed one. (Or as it turned out, two…).

The first treatment was Wednesday. It was a good massage. But I did not relax. My body remained tense, my mind on high alert. I was not too surprised. My last massage was over the summer, many months ago. It has been too long since I had one. And way too much stuff has happened. 11 days in the hospital. Managing five search processes for a new parish. Guiding my existing parish through rugged terrain of grief and worry. Too much strain. Too much anxiety.

So. I had a second massage on Friday. That time I relaxed deeply. Fully. My body just let go of all the strain it was holding on to. Instead of perpetually tapping my toe and bouncing my leg while sitting, I am able to sit still. Able to think more clearly. Able to be quiet and listen to God.

I should have known. I did “body work” for nine years. I know the impact and effect of stress on our bodies. But my massage therapist moved away. I got a referral to another, but she was having surgery. I have been remiss in finding another one.

Now. I know. I need to take care of this. Now. The well being of my body, mind, and spirit, depend on it.

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deep Relaxation

  1. Songbird says:

    What a gift!I try to get to the massage therapist once a month, and I really feel it when I don’t.

  2. My sister is a massage therapist…its great to have one in the family.

Leave a Reply

