Thirst: a poem by Mary Oliver

Another morning and I wake with thirst
for the goodness I do not have. I walk
out to the pond and all the way God has
given us such beautiful lessons. Oh Lord,
I was never a quick scholar but sulked
and hunched over my books past the
hour and the bell; grant me, in your
mercy, a little more time. Love for the
earth and love for you are having such a
long conversation in my heart. Who
knows what will finally happen or
where I will be sent, yet already I have
given a great many things away, expec-
ing to be told to pack nothing, except the
prayers which, with this thirst, I am
slowly learning.

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thirst: a poem by Mary Oliver

  1. i’m hoping for you that everything comes into balance… the sight visit; the sleep; the inner calm; the thirst satiated. and how i wish we were neighbors. you could talk,i could listen. i could talk, you would listen. and then we’d pray and laugh and dive back in… so as i drive today i’ll be thinking of you, praying for you, imagining sitting down at the kitchen counter together for like the thousandth time. but i’d give you a mug of strong tea with lemon and honey… to help with part of the breathing. peace my friend.

  2. Jan says:

    Peace, peace; breathe in, breathe out. Take care.And thanks for the poem. Mary Oliver is always good.

  3. mompriest says:

    thank you HC, for the virtual tea and kitchen counter…thank you Jan, for everything!And, yes, this poem is speaking to me…

Leave a Reply

