Mindful

Every day
I see or I hear
something
that more or less

kills me

with delight,
that leaves me
like a needle

in the haystack
of light.
It is what I was born for –
to look, to listen,

to lose myself
inside this soft world –
to instruct myself
over and over

in joy,
and acclamation.
Nor am I talking
about the exceptional,

the fearful, the dreadful,
the very extravagant –
but of the ordinary,
the common, the very drab,

the daily presentations.
Oh, good scholar,
I say to myself,
how can you help

but grow wise
with such teachings
as these –
the untrimmable light

of the world,
the oceans’s shrine,
the prayers that are made
out of grass?

By Mary Oliver from, “Why I Wake Early” Beacon Press, 2004

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in entitlement, Mary Oliver, nature, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mindful

  1. Gannet Girl says:

    LOL at first I thought this was one of yours, and I was going to say that you sound very Mary Oliver-ish today!

  2. Sherry says:

    Oh just lovely Mompriest. I like to think that I find some joy every day in the most ordinary things. Today it was in two turtles in the lane….and our female dog scaring up a pheasant. I just love seeing a dog laugh!

  3. Jan says:

    Thank you for posting this. I needed to read that tonight.

Leave a Reply

