Celtic Daily Prayer: Evening Prayer

Lord, You have always given
Bread for the coming day,
and though I am poor,
Today I believe.

Lord, You have always given
strength for the coming day
And though I am weak,
Today I believe.

Lord, You have always given
Peace for the coming day,
and though I am of anxious heart,
Today I believe.

Lord, You have always kept
Me safe in trials,
And now, tried as I am,
Today I believe.

Lord, You have always marked
The road for the coming day
And though it may be hidden,
Today I believe.

Lord, You have always lightened
This darkness of mine,
And though the night is here,m
Today I believe.

Lord, You have always spoken
When time was ripe,
And though You be silent now,
Today I believe.

Years ago I purchased the Celtic Daily Prayer Book and prayed with it every day for a year. Since then I have prayed the prayers in this book off and on. Perhaps it is time I returned to using it daily.

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Celtic Daily Prayer Book. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celtic Daily Prayer: Evening Prayer

  1. Jan says:

    Amen. I may have to look into finding that book. Thank you.

  2. Evelyn says:

    Thank you for posting that prayer!

  3. This is hitting so close to home right now. Thank you so much for posting it.

Leave a Reply

