RevGals Friday Five: Pack Your Bags

As some folks prepare for a big event Songbird, over at RevGals, offers this Friday Five:

1) Some fold, some roll and some simply fling into the bag. What’s your technique for packing clothes? I use a combination of rolling and folding when I head off FOR my trip. When coming home I also have some pieces of clothing that I just bundle in a special spot to remind me that this is my “laundry.”

2) The tight regulations about carrying liquids on planes makes packing complicated. What might we find in your quart-size bag? Ever lose a liquid that was too big? I am pretty good at fitting a lot of small 3oz products in that one zip lock bag. I have had to give up bottled water and once, a long time ago, a pair of tiny scissors, back when even those were a no-no.

3) What’s something you can’t imagine leaving at home? In the past I have forgotten to bring a toothbrush, extra underwear, pajamas, socks, a hairbrush. As long as I am near a place to purchase what I’ve forgotten I can manage. I also bring small packets of laundry detergent which I had to use recently when the airlines lost my CARRY ON bag when they made me check it because there were too many carry-ons.

4) Do you have a bag with wheels? Yes, in several sizes: small, smaller and ginormous.

5) What’s your favorite reading material for a non-driving trip (plane, train, bus, ship)? I always bring a book or two and my knitting.

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to RevGals Friday Five: Pack Your Bags

  1. altar ego says:

    I have several needlework projects "in the works," and I need to remember to take them along on trips. I don't have to worry about canine interference then! Hope you're feeling less sore as your body adjusts to all the exercising!

  2. RevDrKate says:

    I find I am enjoying the "yarnish projects" on trips of all sorts these days…another gift of the RevGals.

  3. angela says:

    Oh, that reminds me of what I forget the most: the laundry bag. There are a couple designated bags at home now. But there used to be a pillowcase full.It seems like there is always one garment that I pack thinking I'll wear and then I don't wear it, so it's the one clean garment in the bag…

  4. Deb says:

    @RevDrKate – love the "yarnish"!!Enjoyed your play. rackle-snackle to airlines who lose luggage!!!

  5. Songbird says:

    That was a bad thing, I couldn't believe they mislaid your bag!

  6. Yikes, how we trust them with our stuff.

  7. Purple says:

    I pack a plastic bag for "laundry" and then it goes straight to the laundry area when I get home.

  8. Robin says:

    I can't believe they lost your carry-on bag!

Leave a Reply

