RevGals Friday Five: Pie-ola edition!

Please answer these five questions about pie:

Songbird, over at RevGals had gifts of pie for Thanksgiving. From that delightful experience she offers this Friday Five:

1) Are pies an important part of a holiday meal? It depends on the holiday. If it’s MY birthday I prefer chocolate cake (well, you know, in families our birthdays are holi-days, right?). BUT  otherwise I’m trying to think of a holiday when pie is not important….maybe Valentine’s Day – again chocolate cake, or just chocolates? But all the others I love pie – in the summer berry pies – blueberry or raspberry or peach! In the fall apple or pumpkin, or my latest favorite – apple, pear, cranberry pie! (I’ve made this for the last couple of years and it is a fabulous blend of sweet and tart, and oh so colorful!
2) Men prefer pie; women prefer cake. Discuss. Nope. Not in my household. We all love both.

3) Cherries–do they belong in a pie? Sure. I’m not terribly fond of cherry pie – but that is mostly because I always prefer to use fresh fruit and there is no way I am going to pit all that fruit. But I do love cherries!

4) Meringue–if you have to choose, is it best on lemon or chocolate? We are not big fans, in my home, of cream pies. Unless it is my husband’s birthday when I always make a banana cream pie – but that’s with whipped cream…meringue? I do love lemon but it doesn’t agree with me…so, I guess meringue on lemon, whipped cream on chocolate…

5) In a chicken pie, what are the most compatible vegetables? Anything you don’t like to find in a chicken pie? Oh! My great grandmother made the best chicken pie. I think any veggie is good in pie – well, maybe not tomato – although I suppose sun dried might be interesting…but otherwise potatoes, celery, onion, carrots, turnips, parsnips, broccoli, asparagus….

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RevGals Friday Five: Pie-ola edition!

  1. Oh my pies. I love pie. But I'm not the best pie maker. I follow the directions, but they don't always look very good. The taste is usually fine. My favorite: apple and cream pies, especially chocolate. I used to bake a lot, but now I've lost my taste for most of it. Cake-chocolate for sure, cheesecake, carrot cake. I could go on! lol…As to chicken pot pie….I'm a purist. chicken, onions, carrots, celery, peas, no potatoes, maybe green beans. Hope you had a great thanksgiving Terri!

  2. Jan says:

    Desserts are beloved in my family, except for third child, second son BJ. I also prefer cream pies to those topped with meringue. All those vegetables in a chicken pot pie sound delicious. You are an innovative, nutritious cook!

  3. Songbird says:

    A caterer in my congregation makes something called a Pilgrim Pie that is similar to a chicken pot pie but has a layer of stuffing and includes turnips. It's quite marvelous.

  4. my goodness but you are pie people! (and chocolate cake people on ocassion i hear…)

  5. Patti Money says:

    Cranberry pie? That sounds yummy…

  6. Rev SS says:

    fruit pie … chocolate candy … cakes and cookies I can pass up those calories

Leave a Reply

