I Don’t Want to Live A Small Life

(Photo taken by Terri C. Pilarski)
I don’t want to live a small life. Open your eyes,
open your hands. I have just come
from the berry fields, the sun

kissing me with its golden mouth all the way
(open your hands) and the wind winged clouds
following along thinking perhaps I might

feed them, but no I carry these heart-shapes
only to you. Look how many how small
but so sweet and maybe the last gift

I will ever bring to anyone in this
world of hope and risk,  so do.
Look at me. Open your life, open your hands.

(Mary Oliver: Red Bird; Beacon Press, 2008)


In this season after the Epiphany may we learn to live with open hands and even more open hearts. May the grace of God’s peace flow in you and through you. Open your life, let God’s love flow.
About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Mary Oliver, open hands, open heart, Poem, prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

