The Beauty of the Sonoran Desert

Some photos from my time living in Southern Arizona, which I found to be a beautiful place (in many ways):

 Ocotillo, Saguaro National Park

Night blooming cactus, blooms a couple of times a year

 Storm clouds over the Santa Rita Mountains, the view from my backyard and kitchen
 Sunrise over the Santa Ritas, view from my backyard
 Saguaro Cactus, Saguaro National Park, but also found everywhere in Southern AZ
 Ground squirrel family, outside the fence of my backyard
A winter sunset, view from my backyard
Living in southern Arizona took my breath away – the vastness of the sky, the beauty of the desert, the wild life, the rising and setting sun, the mountains – were simply beautiful. I made some good friends there too. And, I found a silent retreat center that I will return too one day, with a profound sense of peace, prayer, and beauty.
About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in desert house of prayer, photo, Santa Ritas, Sonoran desert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Beauty of the Sonoran Desert

  1. Wow, Terri. It really is gorgeous. How fortunate to get to see those sunsets and vistas! I can see how it would be a perfect setting for a silent retreat center.

  2. revhipchick says:

    Beautiful photos! I especially love the night blooming cactus–the sunset from your back yard is astounding as well.

  3. zorra says:

    I always enjoy your Arizona pictures. The night blooming cactus is gorgeous.

  4. Yolanda says:

    Such beautiful photos and such a beautiful place. I was so saddened by Sundays violence and so touched by the memorial in Tuscon today. I am glad to have found your blog and will be back soon.

Leave a Reply

