RevGal Friday Five: Freedom!

Jan, over at RevGals has recently been released from six weeks of wearing a sling to allow her shoulder to heal after surgery. As a result she is experiencing a new sense of “Freedom” and offers this Friday Five:

1. physical – six years ago I suffered from a terrible infection that landed me in the hospital for eleven days followed by nine weeks of antibiotics four times a day via self injected pic line. Being released from that pic line was a similar sense of freedom as Jan expresses.

2. spiritual – spiritual freedom. Curious. I could probably go in many different directions with this one, but given the short amount of time I have this morning, I’ll go with the first thing that pops into my mind. Here in Dearborn we live in an active, intentional, interfaith city. I like that, it reflects the best of what this country has to offer and enables me to grow more deeply in my faith through relationships with other faiths.

3. emotional – this kind of freedom comes, I think, through doing the good hard work to understand what motivates me and what I do to undermine myself – those “old tapes” if you will, that can be destructive, fear filled, stifling. The more work I do to grow and be emotionally healthy the more “freedom” I experience.

4. vocational – working within a hierarchical church system enables a peculiar kind of freedom, but also, limitations. So, within the freedom I have I enjoy my vocation and find it gratifying. I often appreciate the structure, which I usually experience as useful, although there are occasions when the structure becomes destructive if we don’t all do our best to function with healthy boundaries.

5. relationships – In some regard social media has opened up a whole new world of relationships for me. I maintain a regular connection with people from high school, earlier careers, and people I’ve become friends with, but have never met. It certainly seems like a wonderful sense of freedom!

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to RevGal Friday Five: Freedom!

  1. Sandy says:

    I appreciate the way you refer to a hierarchical church system as "a peculiar kind of freedom" because that has definitely been my experience as well! Peculiar is a great word for it!

  2. Jan says:

    So glad you played today, Terri! I think you are much "deeper" than you labeled yourself. I appreciate your mention of social media as a new form of freedom in relationships. I'm glad that you are in such an open community, too.

  3. Purple says:

    So with you on #3…it is hard, but good, work.

  4. river song says:

    "an active, intentional, interfaith city"–how wonderful that sounds! thanks for playing, peace!

  5. Joolie says:

    Last summer I interviewed at a congregation in Dearborn, which did not result in a call. I'm happy where I am, but whenever you mention your city, I think, I could have been her colleague! I'm glad we still are, through the wonders of the internet.

Leave a Reply

