Friday Five: Let’s Eat!

3dogmom over at RevGals offers this Friday Five meme:

1) Is there a food from a foreign land whose reputation led to trepidation when you had a chance to give it a try? Did you find the courage to sample it anyway? If so, were you pleasantly surprised or did you endorse the less than favorable reputation that preceded it? I have tried many foods over the years. I think caviar may be the one that most stands out for me. I haven’t had it in years but it was one of the appetizers offered in the 1980’s when I worked for the famous interior designer. I found caviar to be salty and squishy but otherwise not something I disliked nor something I’d go out of my way to eat. 

2) What food from your own country/culture gets a bad rap? I from a line of people whose origins are in Scotland and England. My mother use to say we were part Irish, but I have no evidence of that in our lineage. So, I guess that bad rap food would be haggis. I have never tried it. Probably never will since I seem to have digestive issues with lamb….

3) what food are you fond that others find distasteful? I am fond of baba ganoush and sushi and grilled beets….someone I know described beets as tasting like dirt. (that made me laugh, accurate description actually, but I love beets – grilled, blended in veggie smoothies, and harvard beets on salads).

4) Is there a country’s food, not native to you, that you go out of your way to eat? Living in Dearborn, Michigan, home to a large population of Muslims, I eat a lot of Lebanese food. (It is delicious).

5) What is your guilty pleasure food? I am not really food motivated. I am however a beverage person (you know, coffee in the morning, tea in the afternoon, herbal tea at night, and a glass of wine with dinner…). However I suppose I could say that the made from scratch dark chocolate zucchini cake with cream cheese icing I made twice (recently) was certainly a guilty pleasure food!

Bonus: What was your most memorable meal (good or bad), either because of the menu, the occasion, the company, or some other circumstance that makes it stand out? My husband and I had many delicious meals at a small family owned restaurant in Arlington Heights, IL called Regina’s. They’ve closed that location, but while it was open it was our GO-TO place for all events – birthday’s, New Year’s Eve, a night out. The food was always delicious and the atmosphere was beautiful and yet homey. It was a great Italian restaurant.

About Terri C Pilarski

I am an Episcopal priest serving a delightfully progressive, interesting, creative congregation. I have been married more than half my life to the same man. We have two grown children, plus two dogs and two cats, although the number of four legged household members changes from time to time. I love to garden, knit, read, and play on Facebook or with my blog. I have been a practitioner of daily meditation since I was nineteen. I practice yoga five days a week and walk every where I am able too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Five: Let’s Eat!

  1. 3dogmom says:

    Great play, Terri. I love having a regular place to eat for special occasions, too, or a go-to place to meet up with a friend. I remember you writing about the zucchini cake, it sounds wonderful! Post the recipe?

  2. marciglass says:

    I love beets too. And baba ganoush

  3. janintx says:

    That chocolate zucchini cake sounds delicious–I’d like the recipe, too! And I have to bookmark your new address.

  4. beets do taste like dirt. 🙂 However, that chocolate zucchini cake….pretty please post the recipe!

  5. Karen says:

    Beets do taste like dirt, and so do snails. I tried haggis once, a long, long time ago. I seem to remember it just tasted like sausage to me.

  6. grilled beets? well who knew??!!

Leave a Reply

